About Us


Monday – Friday          9 am – 8 pm

Saturday                        9 am – 2 pm

Mission Statement

The mission of the Charlotte Community Library is to provide materials and service, which will furnish opportunities for educational, informational, recreational and cultural needs of the community.

History of the Library

A library in Charlotte was first established on November 19, 1894 when the Common Council levied a tax of 1/2 mil to provide a free public library and reading room to residents. After many years in rental spaces, a committee was appointed to contact Andrew Carnegie for help in establishing a permanent   library. In 1903 the new library building, a gift of Andrew Carnegie, was opened to the public.

Space in the library building began to grow tight. In 1986 The Charlotte Library Project, Inc. was formed to seek out a new location for the public library and one year later a new building was purchased.  The new building was formerly a Felpausch Grocery Store so major renovations were necessary. Renovations began in 1990 and were finally completed in April 1994. The new building became open to the public in September 1994.

Library Board

The library board meets the third Thursday of every month in the Spartan Room at the library. The October meeting is on the 4th Thursday of the month. The meetings begin at 7:00 p.m.

The current board members are:

Mary Sloan: 517.541.0976 President
Carmel Township

Dale Dodds: 517.543.1739 Vice President/Secretary
City of Charlotte

Jo Jones: 517.541.4334 Treasurer
Eaton Township

Eunice Borrelli: 517-541-2359
Eaton Township

Bob Monschein: 517-543-7060
City of Charlotte

Keith Tirrell: 517.543.6278
Carmel Township

Gloria Wilson: 517.543.7618
City of Charlotte

View Public Act 202 2017 Pension Report